Skip to main content
The official website of the State of Mississippi

About the Commission

Composition and Term
The Mississippi Ethics Commission was established November 15, 1979. The Commission is composed of eight members appointed to serve four-year terms. All terms are staggered so that two terms expire each year. Members may be reappointed, and they may remain in office past the end of their term until they are replaced or they resign. See Section 25-4-5 and Section 25-1-7, Miss. Code of 1972.

Method of Selection
Two members of the Commission are appointed by each of the following authorities: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

Commission Members

Name City Appointed By Term Expires
Ben Stone, Chairman Gulfport Lt. Governor 11/14/25
Sean A. Milner, Vice-Chairman Clinton Speaker 11/14/25
Stephen W. Burrow Pascagoula Chief Justice 11/14/27
Maxwell J. Luter Tylertown Chief Justice 11/14/24
Erin P. Lane Ridgeland Governor 11/14/24
Samuel C. Kelly Madison Lt. Governor 11/14/26
vacant   Speaker 11/14/26
Christopher T. Graham Clinton Governor 11/14/27

Each member appointed to the Commission must be a qualified elector of the State of Mississippi of good moral character and integrity. Not more than one person appointed by each appointing authority shall be an elected official.

The responsibility of the Commission is to see that the legislative purpose is satisfied by exercising all duties and powers contained in the Commission's enabling legislation. The Commission meets monthly to issue orders and opinions in all cases. Five members must be present to constitute a quorum of the Commission, and five affirmative votes are required for the Commission to take official action.

The Staff
The Mississippi Ethics Commission is served by a small, dedicated staff of professional public servants. The staff serve at the will and pleasure of the Executive Director, Tom Hood, who serves at the will and pleasure of the Commission. The Ethics Commission is outside the state personnel system, and all employees are classified as non-state service. The staff make recommendations to the Commission members on virtually all matters under consideration by the Commission, but the staff have no authority to take action on behalf of the Commission.

Records and Statistics
Advisory Opinions Issued Per Year: 145
Complaints Processed Per Year: 118
Investigations Conducted Per Year: 33
Training Sessions Conducted Per Year: 30
Statements of Economic Interest Filed Per Year: 5,000-6,000